Do You Ever Feel Like You’re Losing It?!

I don’t mean going ‘crazy’ o. Because the fuel queues, crazy Lagos heat, apparent absence¬†of PHCN and Lagos water corporation can drive you up the wall ….

What I mean is that there’s a point in your life where you start to lose a grip on things that you used to be so good at. Let me explain.

Being the eldest girl in a home of four girls meant that you carried the responsibility of being the second mom. You took charge of meals, cleaning, sometimes laundry and division of responsibility. All of this was to ‘prepare you for your husband’s house’.¬†Funny right?!

Don’t laugh, that actually helped me. Anyways, back to the mortar…

I got so good at scheduling meals, dividing labour, taking care of housework that it almost became second nature to me. Emphasis on the word ‘ALMOST’.

Now I’m in charge of my own home and I feel like I’m floating and I realize that I can’t quite remember how to make groundnut soup. Or I find that I’m not satisfied with the way my Okra soup tastes.

Am I the only one this happens to?

Today my eyebrows can be on fleek and then next week, I’m wondering how to draw my eyebrows right. I can put pen to paper and come up with amazing work and then next month, I’m like ‘What am I doing here?’, ‘What am I supposed to do now?’

Is there something I need to do? I need to hear that this is normal and soon I’ll get a grip on my life because right now……

Does this happen to anyone?

 

Intoxyka

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. lamikayty says:

    I find it helps to be present or fully present where you are. Not stressing about what is going to happen or what has happened but simply being aware and laughing when the groundnut soup tastes odd and not fretting about it. Interesting read.

    1. Thanks for taking the time to read and respond. So far, I’ve met people who tell me that I’m not the only one who feels out of touch sometimes and it’s somewhat reassuring. I’ll take your advice to heart.

  2. This happens to me so much that I feel like I forget chunks of my life and become a new but similar man everyday. But it always comes back eventually and for me, it’s a quick reminder that all is still very much nothing but vanity.

    1. That’s not a bad thing. So far you find yourself being a better version of yourself then you don’t have much to worry about.

  3. DamiLoves says:

    Indeed! Sometimes, little things set us off balance. I find that when I am behind on home chores, everything else seems to get out of sync, and I need to go back to the drawing board. But that’s just part of life I suppose; we learn to adjust and readjust.
    Plain Pain

    1. I like the going back to the drawing board part. Even though it seems like I make so many plans that I never go through with. I think the trick is not to overthink things and to take each day at a time; difficult if one is a worrier but totally worth it in the end.

Your thoughts please :)

