A Friendly Reminder: You DON’T Owe Anyone Anything!

I was reading a book sometime ago and came across a little story. A rich man took it upon himself to pay the fees of a hundred students in his local community. He felt that was the little he could do to give them a fair chance in life.
Months later,he gets a call from one of his wards requesting for a phone and giving him a deadline. I had a good laugh when I read this, recalling a certain situation I had been in.
I had recently reconnected with an old friend from secondary school on Facebook. Three weeks later I get a message from her saying ‘Babe send me money na, abi aren’t you working?

I’m still amazed every time I think of it.

This is a typically Nigerian situation and we get it from family, friends, colleagues, artisans, every freaking person on the street!

The thing is we have all being in this situation; where people expect you to behave in a certain way or give them certain leeways that they wouldn’t give.

They expect you to share intimate details of your life with them, call them when you don’t hear from them, make sacrifices for them, help them out financially. And if you’re not careful, you’ll be deceived into reciprocity, doing the things they expect you to and making excuses for that sort of behavior.

The good news is that you don’t have to. If you feel something is too Personal to be shared,then don’t share. Don’t be under the pressure to make up stories just so you can reciprocate with information. You are just selling out your soul for cheap satisfaction. No one should make you do anything you don’t want to,especially if you don’t want to.There’s nothing wrong with listening to someone’s story and offering your opinion of asked.

My two cents…. But if you enjoy being in the bondage of people’s expectations then be my guest.

Till my next post….

Intoxyka!

Your thoughts please :)

