First Entry From Deoye Falade…. Writers Horror Challenge

Hello people!

Trust you had an awesome weekend. I spent the whole weekend braiding my hair and cooking for my husband…(Gosh, I love the sound of that). Anyways….

14.

Today’s entry comes from Deoye Falade, a amazing writer I met on Facebook. Beyond all the banter, I think he is pretty smart and he proved this when I read his entry. He picked this line

There was a picture in my phone of me sleeping. I live alone’

Enjoy.

***

It’s just 12:30 in the morning and for some reason I couldn’t sleep anymore. I didn’t wake up to a nightmare as you might like to call it but the dream I had was so vivid. It was getting dark; the sun’s reluctant retreat left a beautiful golden hue in the graying sky. I was alone in the capital city but this time around I felt I was being watched. I’m always alone in my dreams, I don’t dream of people so I’m used to not meeting anyone in there. This was different. At every turn I could feel eyes on me, into every street and alley it was as if I had a penetrating gaze searing into my back. Yet whenever I looked back I saw nothing; no shadows, no footprints, no rustling leaves or disturbed space.

I decided to go to the top of the tallest building to see if I could get a better view. The elevators were working, lights too. The building used to be the head office of a top bank but it was deserted now, like everyone closed, put their desks in order then disappeared. I got to the roof; there were a few canopies with chairs under them, probably for staff who felt the need to relax in the evening after work. There was even a scope on a tripod, possible handiwork of an inquisitive employee or director who feels a need to have a closer look at all that’s beneath him.

The scope was intriguing but I ignored it and moved closer to the edge. Looking from above there wasn’t much to see except enjoy the scenery of concrete punctuating spaces in the skyline. I moved from edge to edge but there was nothing. What did I even think I was going to find?  I shrugged as I stood for a few more minutes deciding on whether to go back down or just take a seat and enjoy another lonely evening. I let out a deep sigh.

Then I was pushed.

That was when I woke up at 12:30. The LED indicator was blinking as usual – the insomniacs in my WhatsApp group were in action. Pretty sure it would be Coolkat, Granero, Cynthia and Wakey. Crazy people. I opened my pictures folder just so I could send a silly picture to interrupt their flow. I smirked. The grin however slowly faded from my face at the first picture I saw.

It was a picture of me sleeping, same clothes. I live alone.

I checked the picture properties; it was taken at 12:29, a minute before I woke up from the dream where I was pushed.

Shit!

***

I hope you enjoyed the write up. He has asked if he should follow up with a sequel and I say yes…..

You could also check out his blog: http://spencersmuse.wordpress.com/

Your thoughts?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. deola says:

    here’s an amazing writer…

  2. Xceptional43 says:

    Definately. ..am eager for a sequel too

  3. deola says:

    btw jessy, where’s ur entry?

    1. Intoxyka says:

      Working on it!!!!! 😀

Your thoughts please :)

