On Your Marks, Get Set…… WORK!!!!!!!!

cover ethic

Howdy everyone,

This might be a very short post but hopefully an insightful one. This morning in my thinking room, I thought about a lot of things in my life especially my career. It seems like lately that’s all I’ve been thinking of. You see, I recently made a decision to stop being lazy and take a leap career wise and last week, I had a wave of dopa mine. Its a long story but lemme start from the beginning….
* * *
Many years ago, about twenty something years ago, a baby girl was born to the Nigerian Von Trapps (that would be my family) and that little girl was me. This little girl grew up and showed immense potential and intelligence. She loved to read, write (yeah, I started early) and sing (though this wasn’t a success). She was an avid learner and everyone thought ‘mehn, this babe is gonna be something‘. You know where everything went wrong right? The moment someone told me to my face that I was an intelligent babe. My first instinct was ‘Seriously?! I didn’t do anything and I’m intelligent?! Heck I don’t need to do anything anymore‘ and that was precisely what I did: nothing! The most I did was to read.

My momma always said that if you read really hard, made good grades and got out of the University without any hitches, you are pretty much set for your lifetime. Apparently at the time, employers followed up on bright students and scooped them right out of their graduation gowns. So I figured that if I read hard enough, I’ll get scooped outta school into that corner office with a great view over looking the sea.

Now I think that whoever put the words ‘rude awakening’ together had me in mind. You see, I finished from school and waited for the scoop……. It didn’t come. I had realized through my stay in the university that there were a few holes in the scoop story and while I still had expectations, I was sorta disappointed that I didn’t get the scoop. It didn’t help that we had been brained washed into thinking that as graduates we were entitled to certain things. We didn’t realize that we had to work to fulfill those expectations in our heads. Hence a lot of ‘graduates’ had distorted, unrealistic expectations and kept waiting for an actualization of these dreams.
Then I noticed something. Most people had a complaint or two about how much they hated their bosses, how they hated their jobs, how they were constantly picked on, how they are never shown preferential treatment and blah blah. Did it mean that the entire bosses in the human race were made out of a certain viscous material that made them inherently evil? Or were the people in my circle merely complainants who liked to run their mouths? I stuck to the former that is until I learnt something called ‘Work Ethic‘. ( If I were a designer, there would be a halo of light behind those two words). Yeah that’s right, WORK ETHICS……or should I say having the right work ethic.

I would not attempt to define it because I am not Google and I’m definitely not a dictionary. Simply put though, for the benefit of those without access to the aforementioned, Work ethics refer to your attitude to your work. You have two options when it comes working: you can either grit your teeth, get the work done, work hard, work smart, get mentally active and grow yourself or you can sit back, do sloppy work, miss deadlines, miss work on certain days, blame the world for where you are and basically become a bitter person who won’t rise beyond a certain place.

you can either grit your teeth, get the work done, work hard, work smart, get mentally active and grow yourself or you can sit back, do sloppy work, miss deadlines, miss work on certain days, blame the world for where you are and basically become a bitter person who won’t rise beyond a certain place

Granted you will meet some evil bosses (sadly there is some evilness is some bosses) but you can handle and impress them with your attitude to work. Remember your work attitude is not about your boss or your colleagues; its about you. You owe it to yourself to be a better person by rolling up your sleeves and getting the dirty job done. Merely being a graduate doesn’t cut it anymore.

Work-Ethic-

With my illusion shattered by people who truly have my best interests at heart, I decided that I needed to re-strategize. I haven’t forgotten my dream about the corner office with the amazing view but now, I have the tools to actualize that dream. Here are a few tips to help you with your attitude to work and build a better work ethic:

  • Mentally prep yourself for it –  You are still gonna have to do it anyway, just make sure you do it so well that you say ‘hey, I can’t believe I just did that‘. Trust me, the wave of dopamine you’ll feel afterwards is sooo worth it.
  • Get to work early – I know the traffic is crazy, and the the bed feels good at 4-5 am in the morning but get out of the bed and get to work already!!!
  • Write down your tasks and challenge yourself daily – You’ll feel a rush in your head when you done a great job, even if no one tells you. Besides every time you challenge yourself and conquer that challenge, you have added something to your repertoire of skills.
  •  Improve daily –  Sometimes good isn’t good enough.
  • Develop a positive attitude.
  • Evaluate yourself (truthfully) – There is no use if you’re going to be in denial.
  • Speak to people who have (in your opinion) a proper work ethic. Get mentors, follow their footsteps, read…….

There’s so much that we might not leave here today but you get the drift sha. Till we meet again……

Jess
XOXO

Your thoughts please :)

